Raspberry Cheesecake Brownie

Have you ever been in a situation where you had to choose between a brownie and a cheesecake? I have, many times, and I always end up with the brownie. Well, now you don’t have to make that choice as I bring you the Cheesecake Brownie! Seriously, this must be one of the top ten creations ever invented (at least in the cake world). What’s not to like? Brownie – mmm, Cheesecake – mmm, Raspberry whipped cream – mmm… This cake even looks as good as it tastes, with one brown layer, one white, and one pink. As usual, this recipe is from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook. I’m getting worried that if I reproduce any more of their recipes they might sue me, so I have decided not to print the recipe this time. What you do is make your favourite brownie recipe and pour it into a 33 x 23 x 5-cm baking tray. Top that layer with your favourite cheesecake filling (American style, not fridge-set style, a half batch is probably enough), and bake in the oven at 170°C (325°F) for 30-40 minutes. The cheesecake should be light golden around the edges. Leave cake to cool completely, then refrigerate for at least two hours, preferably overnight. I over-baked the brownie a little so be sure you check the cake after 30 minutes.

I made this cake for a dinner party last week, but unfortunately the party was cancelled so Brittany and I were stuck with all this deliciousness all to ourselves. We gave some away, but we still had this for dessert basically every day for a week. The dinner party was actually back on this week so I made a new dessert, will post it in a couple of weeks. While we are on the subject of this dinner party I want to say thank you to all of Brittany’s amazing friends (you know who you are) who have welcomed me into their group. It has been so nice to get to know you all and I am looking forward to many more dinner parties and other events to come. It makes me really happy when you say that you enjoy my baking so you can expect more where that is coming from!

I will definitely make this cake again and again. It looks really fancy and the taste is unbeatable, but it is also simple to make.

What else is new? Well, I haven’t done much out of the ordinary lately. Studying, eating, sleeping, exercising, relaxing, drinking etc. We are getting ready for Halloween now and I am so exited for my first Halloween over here. I think we have decided on a pretty fantastic theme for our costumes; we’re going as different drinks you would find in a liquor cabinet! I will try to post some pictures some time in the near future. Until then, enjoy the fall colours and make yourself a treat! Thanks for stopping by my blog today.

To make the raspberry frosting you need:

300 ml whipping cream

100 g icing sugar

150 g raspberries

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk with an electric mixer until firm but not stiff.

Spread over the cake and decorate with extra raspberries. Enjoy!

3 responses to “Raspberry Cheesecake Brownie

  1. wow yum yum!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  2. The best so far. I hope that’s what you sent me.

Leave a Reply

