Snickerdoodles

I knew I was going to like these cookies when I saw them on The Brown Eyed Baker. I love, love, love cinnamon! The smell, the colour, the taste… all perfect. I think this cookie must be something very American, I have never heard of them in Norway or in the UK. There used to be a little bakery in the seaside town of Brevik, near my family’s summer house in Norway. They had these amazing things that we called cinnamon sticks which we used to get every time we were down there. They were based on a yeast dough which was rolled out very thin and spread with a mixture of butter, cinnamon and sugar. How great does that sound? Unfortunately the bakery is now closed down, so no more cinnamon sticks for me 😦 The snickerdoodles are a very good replacement, but sometime in the future I definitely want to try to recreate the cinnamon sticks that I have loved for so long (watch this space).

The original recipe yields about 4 dozen cookies. I don’t know what I would ever do with that many cookies (probably eat them) but I halved the recipe and I still have a lot left in the freezer. I followed the recipe exactly as it was laid out, and the cookies turned out perfect. It’s a very simple recipe, but it requires some space in the fridge for chilling the dough and the cookie sheets. The recipe calls for cream of tartar which is something we don’t normally use in Norway, so I decided to use baking powder instead. I have adjusted the recipe below, but the original recipe with cream of tartar can be found here. For Norwegians who use vanilla sugar instead of vanilla extract, use 2 tsp and add them with the flour. Just writing about them these cookies me want one so now I am eating one right out the freezer (they’re actually very good frozen)… I think this is my new favourite cookie, and it could be yours too! So get cooking and let the scent of cinnamon fill your kitchen.

Recipe (makes about 4 dozen cookies)

6.5 dl (2¾ cups) flour

4 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

230 g (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature

3.5 dl (1½ cups) sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C (350°F). Line baking sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat and put in refrigerator to chill.
  2. Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  3. Cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla.
  4. Gradually stir in the flour mixture, beating on low speed just until the flour is blended.
  5. Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes.
  6. In the meantime, mix together the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.
  7. Scoop 1-inch balls of dough and roll in the cinnamon and sugar mixture to coat.
  8. Place on chilled cookie sheet about 2 inches apart and bake for 10 minutes.
  9. Chill the dough and cookie sheets between batches.
  10. Let cookies set on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes and then remove to a cooling rack. Store cookies in an airtight container.

Source: Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from RecipeZaar.

2 responses to “Snickerdoodles

  1. I’m so glad that you enjoyed these cookies! They look fabulous!

  2. Mmm, i want.

Leave a Reply

