Blueberry Cake

When I was younger I used to go out in the forest and pick wild blueberries with my parents. We would freeze some of them so that we had blueberries throughout the winter. Yummy! When I moved to London I was really surprised to see that I couldn’t buy wild blueberries in the supermarket. I could only get those huge blue things with a whitish flesh which don’t really taste much at all, certainly not of blueberries. This is why I was so happy last week when I realised they sold wild blueberries at Whole Foods Market here in New York. I bought a box and had them with yogurt and oats for breakfast throughout the week. As the weekend approached I wanted to make something special with blueberries, I browsed my recipes and settled on this fabulous cake from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook (of course!). Imagine my disappointment when I went back to Whole Foods and they didn’t have any more wild blueberries! I had to settle for the boring kind, but the cake still turned out really good. I just can’t help to think how amazing it would have been with proper blueberries! I don’t really have any comments on this recipe besides how good this cake is! I made it a week ago and I finished the last piece yesterday, a little dry now but still good. The recipe calls for a 25 cm ring mould but I only had a 24 cm. I didn’t think that would make much difference, but I had so much batter I ended up with TWO cakes and two cupcakes! I think making half is sufficient if you only want one cake, but why not just freeze one? It can be frozen unfrosted and will probably keep for three months.

So, try to get your hands on some wild blueberries before it’s too late and make this cake, which not only tastes great but looks very pretty too!

Recipe (makes 2 cakes)

350 g unsalted butter, at room temperature

350 g caster sugar

6 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

450 g plain flour

2 tbsp + 2 tsp baking powder

280 ml soured cream

250 g fresh blueberries, plus extra to decorate

Cream cheese frosting (recipe follows)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C (325°F). Grease and dust a 25 cm ring mould.
  2. Mix sugar and butter and cream until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time while mixing well, be sure to scrape any unmixed ingredients from the side of the bowl.
  4. Beat in the vanilla extract, flour and baking powder until well mixed.
  5. Add the soured cream and mix well until everything is combined and the mixture is light and fluffy (at this point the batter was so delicious I ate about 2 tbsp right there and then).
  6. Gently stir in the blueberries by hand until evenly dispersed.
  7. Pour the mixture into the ring mould (about ¾ full) and smooth over with a palette knife or a spatula. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 minutes, until golden brown.
  8. Leave the cake to cool slightly in the mould before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  9. When the cake is cold, cover the top and sides with Cream Cheese Frosting and decorate with more blueberries. A light dusting of icing sugar also looks nice on the blueberries.

Cream Cheese Frosting (for 12 cupcakes, or 1 cake)

300 g icing sugar, sifted

50 g unsalted butter, at room temperature

125 g cream cheese, cold

Directions:

  1. Beat the icing sugar and butter on medium- slow speed until the mixture comes together and is well mixed.
  2. Add the cream cheese in one go and beat until it is completely incorporated.
  3. Turn the mixer up to high speed and beat until the frosting is light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. It can become runny, so do not overbeat.

Source: the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

3 responses to “Blueberry Cake

  1. This is a fabulous cake…. I also ran across the recipe in the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook… I have never been a “from scratch” person. Yet I have found that the recipes in the cookbook are simple and tasty…. My cakepan is also small… Thank you for the advice… Next time I will make 2!!!!!

    • I love that cookbook! It’s my favorite book for simple yet delicious cakes. Hope you are having a good time making cakes from scratch, I think it is really worth the effort. Thank you for stopping by my site 🙂

  2. Pingback: cake of the week: blueberry cake « a little bit of tlc

Leave a Reply

