Tiramisu

The February 2010 Daring Bakers’ Challenge was hosted by Aparna of My Diverse Kitchen and Deeba of Passionate About Baking. They chose Tiramisu as the challenge for the month. Their challenge recipe is based on recipes from The Washington Post, Cordon Bleu at Home, and Baking Obsession.

It’s been a long time since I have blogged, two months to be exact. I have a good reason though, my laptop died so while it’s being fixed I’m using another laptop. This laptop is not compatible with the memory card in my camera and my camera cord is all the way across the Atlantic. So…I have been making food, just not blogging about it. I thought I would share a couple of links to some of the recipes I’ve tried recently:

Cinnamon Pull-Apart Muffins

I made these absolutely amazing muffins from Joy the Baker. They were so delicious and fun to make. I’m not a big fan of raisins in baked goods, so I used chopped pecans instead. I definitely recommend these muffins for anyone who loves the cinnamon-sugar combo.

Spinach & Artichoke cups

A little snack that I made for Super Bowl. This was my first ever Super Bowl and I had a lot of fun watching it even though I don’t know the rules of American football. A couple of days before the Super Bowl I had been out to dinner with a friend who was visiting from Norway, and we had the hot spinach and artichoke dip as an appetizer. These cups were just like that, only bite-size :)

Butternut Squash Ravioli

I have never made ravioli before, but when I saw a post by Iowa girl about homemade ravioli I was very intrigued. She used wonton-wrappers instead of making pasta, which makes the whole process less time-consuming. I was really happy with the result (I’ve made the recipe twice already), and I recommend these for anyone wanting a delicious dinner.

These were just a few of the recipes I’ve tried these last couple of months. I really like reading blogs and getting ideas about recipes to try, but I do feel a bit sad that I don’t use my cook books as much as I would like.

Well, back to the Daring Bakers. I skipped last month’s challenge because I was very busy around that time. I was equally busy with school work this week, so I ended up staying in the kitchen until midnight making all the different components to this tiramisu. Yes…we made EVERYTHING from scratch, including mascarpone and lady fingers. Making mascarpone was not fun, making lady fingers was a lot of fun. The pastry cream we made was really good, lump-free and easy to make (if I’m ever making pastry cream again, this is the recipe I will use). The finished tiramisu was really good and I’m happy that I challenged myself to make it, but I don’t think it would have been much different had I used ready-made mascarpone and lady fingers. The portion was quite big, enough tiramisu to serve at a party. Luckily for me and my waist line, Brittany’s family was in town for the weekend and came over for some yummy desert. I still have some in the freezer that I’m planning on serving to my mom when she comes to visit this weekend. The last piece of tiramisu is now in the fridge, waiting for my mom to come over after dinner :)

Enough for now, I’ll get back to posting more frequently soon. Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses to “Tiramisu

  1. The tiramisu looks great in a martini glass! I loved making the ladyfingers too, which was a good thing, because I ate most of the first batch and had to make more. I’ve also found my new go-to pastry cream recipe.

  2. Lovely tiramisu. Very nicely done.

  3. Your Tiramisu is lovely. :) Great job on this challenge!

  4. Du er så flink Rita !!

Leave a Reply

